The Why Store – Lack of Water (1994)

The Why Store – Lack of Water (1994)

The Why Store was an American rock band, formed in the late 1980s in Muncie, Indiana, United States, when bassist Greg Gardner and guitarist Michael David Smith, both Ball State University students, met up with Indianapolis drummer (Graig) Omar Adams.

After being joined a couple months later by lead singer Chris Shaffer, also a Ball State student, the band played a few gigs as Emerald City. Adams left Emerald City in 1991 and was replaced by drummer Charlie Bushor in 1992. That same year, the band switched to a new name, The Why Store, the name of a former Muncie  haberdashery.

In 1993, the band independently recorded Welcome to the Why Store. One year later the band recorded Inside the Why Store. Both albums were huge regional successes, and The Why Store began getting attention from record labels. At this time, touring keyboard player Jeff Pedersen was made an official member of the group, and in 1995 The Why Store signed to MCA’s subsidiary Way Cool Music for their first major–label effort, a self–titled LP, which was released in 1996.

The song “Lack of Water”, the band’s most successful single, received steady airplay on Alternative Radio and reached #1 for two weeks on the Billboard AAA charts. In 1997, The Why Store toured the country opening for John Mellencamp’s successful “Mr. Happy Go Lucky” tour, and made an appearance on Late Night with Conan O’Brien. The band released Two Beasts in June 1998, and in 1999 released the double–disc concert set Live at Midnight.

The Why Store split up in 2000 citing creative differences.


© 2022 Audio Flashbacks™ - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy